Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon

Well, the big day finally came and went, and I’m still alive! This past Sunday was the half-marathon I’ve been training for. After about four months of anticipation, worry, and rigorous physical activity (most weeks…) it has come and gone. I finally can say that I’ve run a half-marathon. I’ve run 13.1 miles without stopping. Wow.


(My brother, Brian, and I after the race.)


(Margo and I after the race.)

And how do I feel? Sore. Very, very sore. And I feel accomplished. I didn’t think I’d be able to do it, honestly. I was really nervous that I didn’t train enough and that my tendency to skip training here and there for more exciting things (lying on the beach > 7 mile run) would come back to bite me in the ass. But it didn’t. I finished, and I finished faster than I thought I would! My goal was to be under 2:20, and I finished in 2:08:13. YAY.

I learned a lot about myself. Nothing is impossible if you work hard. Even something that seems so far out of reach (um, running 13 miles) can be done if you put your all into it. Pushing yourself physically is extremely challenging because it involves a combo of mental AND physical obstacles. Again, I never thought I’d be able to do that. Even during the race, at one point I felt like I couldn’t run any longer or my legs were literally going to snap. But I did. I pushed myself. My biggest motivation might have been the thought of embarrassing myself in front of the people around me who were clearly more athletic than I am, but hey, whatever works. And the most important thing I learned, is that seeing all of your hard work pay off feels pretty damn good. Minus the aching pains in your legs, that doesn’t feel so great.

Leave a Reply

