Spinach & Feta Salmon Burgers

Salmon burgers are awesome. Almost as good as normal burgers, but not quite (nothing really compares to a juicy cheeseburger). The reason they’re better though is because they’re healthier. Sadly, unlimited amounts of red meat isn’t the greatest for your body. But luckily, you can enjoy this type of burger just as much! I found this recipe and realized that I already had all of the ingredients, and it was super easy to make. The recipe is originally published on Undressed Skeleton, awesome blog that has tons of other healthy recipes. My burgers came out a little darker than they should have, so I would suggest either baking the salmon for less time, or leaving the entire burger in the pan a little less. It still tasted great, I just prefer my salmon a little rarer.

Spinach & Feta Salmon Burgers

Here’s what you need:
6 oz salmon fillet
1 cup spinach
1/2 cup feta cheese
1 egg white
1/3 cup whole wheat bread crumbs
1 tablespoon olive oil
garlic salt
salt/pepper
condiments (lettuce, tomato, tartar sauce)
whole wheat bun or bread

Here’s how you do it:
1. Season the salmon (I used onion powder and my Caribbean sea salt) and bake for 10 minutes at 350° F.
2. While the salmon is baking, cook the spinach in the microwave with 1/2 cup of water for 3 minutes, drain, and set aside to cool.
3. Combine all ingredients and form into two burgers.
4. Put the patties in the fridge for about a half an hour to firm them up.
5. Cook the patties in a pan on medium until each side is lightly browned, depending on how well-done you want the salmon to be.

As always, I tweaked the recipe a little. I added more feta than the original recipe called for (reference #64527 to my cheese obsession). When the burgers are cooked, place on the buns or bread and add whatever toppings you’d like. I used lettuce, tomato, and tartar sauce. And next time I make them, I’m totally going to make some sweet potato fries, too.

Leave a Reply

