Carb Craze

I’m not much of a carb-craving kind of gal. I normally eat really healthy, and I enjoy healthy foods, so it’s easy for me to do. If I eat carbs, they’re usually in the form of whole grain toast or whole grain pasta, so they’re the good kind of carbs. And even those I don’t indulge in too often. But now, with all of this training, I’ve started to realize that I need to up my carb intake. I know, poor me, I have to force myself to eat carbs… but it’s true. I’m not used to eating to give myself energy; I normally just eat what I want until I’m full. I’ve found that now my body needs a little extra since I’m using up so much energy working out. I started getting tired all the time, so I decided to change my carb intake and see if that helped.

In my attempt to add carbs into my diet, I starting eating Kashi Go Lean Crunch granola regularly. I don’t want to eat empty carbs—I need complex, healthy carbs that will sustain me, keep me full, and give me energy for long runs. For breakfast the past couple of weeks, I have been eating a bowl of plain Greek yogurt, honey, a cut up banana, strawberries, and the Kashi granola.

This protein and carb packed breakfast keeps me full for a long time, and I haven’t been as lethargic as I was a few weeks ago. Packing the extra complex carbs into my diet has really helped me stay energized throughout my training. Plus, my makeshift parfait is extremely healthy AND delicious. I’ve tried a few different fruits (raspberries, blackberries, nectarines), but my favorite is the strawberry banana combo.

One thought on “Carb Craze

Leave a Reply

