Chickpea Salad

I’m always looking for new healthy snacks to try. I’m hungry a lot during the day, especially since I’m training, but I don’t like to snack on too much in between meals. If I do, I end up eating a whole bag of chips or three bowls of ice cream (so healthy). My most often solution to snacking is having a container full of homemade guacamole in the fridge at all times. But I need a little variety every now and then. While doing some serious Pinteresting (shocker), I found a recipe for chickpea salad from Kalyn’s Kitchen and decided to try it. It has a ton of healthy ingredients, so I don’t feel guilty at all when I eat a big bowl of it to hold me over until the next meal. I tweaked the recipe a little bit, my typical laziness and disinterest in having to go buy one or two ingredients when I have others that are really similar. The original recipe is here, and mine is below.

Chickpea Salad

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 can of chickpeas
red wine vinegar
half a lemon
2 tomatoes
half of a large red onion
1/2 cup of kalamata olives, sliced
olive oil
at least a half cup fresh basil, chopped
at least a half cup parsley, chopped
sea salt and ground black pepper

Here’s how you do it:
1. Drain chickpeas and rinse with cold water, and then pour into a large bowl with two tablespoons of the red wine vinegar and juice from half a lemon.
2. Chop tomatoes, olives, and onions. Add them to the bowl.
3. Chop herbs and add to the salad. Add salt and pepper as well.
4. Mix three tablespoons of the red wine vinegar and five tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, whisking until mixed well. Add the dressing to the salad, and mix well.

Let the salad marinate in the dressing for a little while, and then dig in! I thought it tasted even better chilled, so the leftovers are just as good if not better. Enjoy yourself as you snack guilt-free.

Leave a Reply

