Strawberry & Spinach Salad

 

 

 

 

When I was grocery shopping the other day, the strawberries looked too good to pass up. I’ve been putting them in my yogurt and granola for breakfast, but I realized I needed to use more of them before they go bad. My solution? A strawberry and spinach salad. My mom used to make an AWESOME strawberry and spinach salad with homemade dressing, but I’m still looking for the recipe among stacks of disorganized recipe books. In the meantime, I threw together my own version of this refreshing, summery salad. I added grilled chicken on top, too, for some extra protein to make it an entire meal.

Strawberry Spinach Salad

 

Here’s what you’ll need:
baby spinach
strawberries, washed and sliced
goat cheese crumbles
red onion
sesame seeds
balsamic vinegar
1 boneless, skinless chicken breast
seasoning for chicken (I used a Tuscan style sea salt and some onion powder)

Here’s how you do it:
Basically just chop up everything and throw it on top of a bed of baby spinach. Cook the chicken, slice it, and throw it on top. Adjust the amount of each ingredient to your liking. I didn’t have any nuts so I used toasted sesame seeds, but next time I’ll try it with almonds or walnuts instead (although the sesame seeds did add a really great flavor!). Also, I just bought strawberry balsamic vinegar from this cool little balsamic vinegar and olive oil shop in Princeton called Carter & Cavero and it was perfect for this salad. I totally recommend a similar type of balsamic vinegar if you can find it—it gives the salad a more unique flavor and is a nice change up from boring, regular old balsamic vinegar.

One thought on “Strawberry & Spinach Salad

  1. Your mom’s recipe sounds amazing and healthy! I love spinach and strawberries so that’s a go. 🙂 must try soon! And I miss ya, hope to see you tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

