Homemade Guacamole

As promised, here’s a quick and easy guacamole recipe. I’ve had a few friends ask me how I make guac, so I decided it’s time to post it. It’s really simple. You literally need zero cooking ability to do it well. I never knew how to make it until my friend Margo showed me sophomore year… I actually had never even cut open an avocado before then. I now make guacamole all the time, and always keep it in my fridge. It’s the perfect snack plus it goes well on tons of dishes.

Guacamole

Here’s what you’ll need:
3 avocados
half a red onion
1 tomato
cilantro
onion powder
lemon juice
two cloves of garlic, minced

Here’s how you do it:
1. Cut the avocadoes in half, twist open, and discard the pit. Scoop the insides into a bowl. Mush and mix well.
2. Chop the tomato and onion, either very finely with a knife or using a chopper.
3. Add the garlic, a few tablespoons of lemon juice, some onion powder, and cilantro. It tastes best with fresh cilantro, but I use dried cilantro, too, and it works fine.
4. Mix ingredients together. Serve with tortilla chips, pretzel chips, or as a topping for any appropriate dish.

My secret trick is to add Fruit Fresh to the guac after it’s done. It keeps it from getting brown too quickly, so it stays fresher longer. I also store it in an airtight container in the fridge so that it will keep better. But make sure you eat it within a week, before it goes bad. ¡Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

