Mexican Madness

For the past 24 hours, I’ve eaten nothing but Mexican food. The SU Philadelphia Alumni Club organized a Phillies game, which I went to last night with three friends from school who also live in the area. We went to the game and then went out in Philly and spent the night at my friend Margo’s sister’s place, who goes to Drexel. I realized though, since circa 11 p.m. last night, I have been on a strictly Mexican food diet. I’m definitely not mad about it.

After the game last night, we went to Mad Mex in University City to take advantage of the late night margarita special: “$7 Big Azz Margaritas.” Um, si, por favor. Ahora. They have tons of flavors (the special was honeydew), and you can mix any ones you want. I got a strawberry kiwi margarita on the rocks. AND we ordered a huge plate of loaded nachos for the table. Did the combo of tequila and nachos so late at night make me feel terrible? Absolutely. Was it worth every bit of discomfort? Hell yeah. I have a special place in my heart for nachos (I ate them at least five times per day in Cancun over spring break…) and I’ve never met anyone who doesn’t like a good margarita.


(Margarita from Mad Mex)

We woke up this morning and went to Sabrina’s Cafe for breakfast. Apparently this is another hot spot in University City, and just like Mad Mex, I can tell why it’s so popular. It’s kind of pricey for breakfast ($15 for my meal and coffee), but the food was incredible. I ordered the Huevos Rancheros. A risky choice considering the mixture of beer and tequila still sloshing around my stomach from the night before, but I decided to take my chances. And I finished every last bite. It was two fried eggs on top of two hard tortillas, topped with chili, chorizo cream sauce, tomatos, shredded cheese, lime sour cream, and guacamole. I have a recipe for huevos rancheros that I’ve been meaning to try but keep putting off, and now I’m definitely going to make them soon.


(Huevos Rancheros from Sabrina’s Cafe)

When I got home, my dad announced to me that there were rice and beans on the stove that he had just made. More. Mexican. I figured why not, might as well stick with the theme for the day! So for dinner I had rice and beans, which he mixed with some sort of meat (I think it was chicken), and tomatoes. Add some Frank’s Red Hot and you’ve got an easy and filling meal. And as if the rice and beans weren’t enough, I decided to make some guacamole. And I didn’t cheat and just mix salsa with some avocados (which is a great trick, by the way). I actually chopped and added all fresh ingredients, and I made a huge bowl of guac to snack on. I’ve had friends ask me how I make homemade guac,  so I’ll be posting the recipe soon.

Leave a Reply

