Parties: Classy, Not Fratty

The other night, my friend Taylor threw the cutest surprise party for her boyfriend’s birthday. It was small, probably about 10 people, but I was so impressed with how she put it all together that I wanted to share. The party was on her back deck, complete with white Christmas lights and candles to brighten it up when it got dark. She served snacks, including chips and dip, wings, soft pretzel bites, cookie cake, fruit, and cupcakes. We had beer and freshly made sangria, which was so delicious, served in mason jars. When it got dark, we sat around the fire pit and made s’mores.

The party got me thinking about how my friends and I are at the point in our lives that these are the kinds of parties we should be learning how to plan. We weren’t doing kegstands and Jell-o shots in her basement; instead, we sat around a table, talked, and joked as we drank casually and ate good food. Like adults. Weird. I’m not saying no more wild drinking parties, but I did enjoy being at a birthday party where no one was hammered and we could all interact and catch up. It was a nice change of pace. There are times where I still don’t feel like I’m old enough to be finished with college, but then there are times like this where I feel grown up. Next time you want to celebrate a friend or loved one’s birthday, or promotion, or whatever the event, consider a casual get-together like this. It shows that you put a lot of planning into it instead of just driving down the street to pick up a 30 rack. The thoughtful preparation made it more meaningful, and everyone had a great time.

Have you organized any get-togethers or parties lately? Have any cute DIY ideas for decorations or snacks? I’d love to hear about them!

2 thoughts on “Parties: Classy, Not Fratty

  1. Wow Amy your post is so sweet! And I love the pictures! I had such a fun time, and I think everyone else did too 🙂 thank you so much!!! Your right, it was fun to just catch up. 🙂 I’m gonna post about the party next week, can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

