Spinach, Mushroom, Tomato & Cheese Omelet

Breakfast is by far my favorite meal of the day. So much so that sometimes I eat eggs for dinner. Usually, I make the same old thing: scrambled eggs with mushrooms, tomatoes, onions, broccoli and cheddar cheese. But recently, I’ve started to get sick of it. Looking for ways to reinvent my eggs, I experimented with some new combos of ingredients. This omelet ended up being so good, I had it for the next three mornings, plus last night for dinner. Pretty soon I’m going to tire out this, too, but for now, I can’t get enough.

Here’s what you’ll need:
3 eggs (or egg whites, if you prefer)
tomato
baby spinach
baby bella mushrooms
onion powder
olive oil
feta cheese crumbles
shredded mozz cheese

Here’s how you do it:
1. Pour some olive oil in the pan and wait for it to get hot. Chop up some tomato and mushroom so that you have a medium handful of each.
2. Throw the tomato and mushroom into the pan and let cook for a few minutes on medium high heat. Sprinkle on some onion powder for flavor (I like a lot, but you can adjust it to your personal taste).
3. Add baby spinach, ripping large leaves into smaller ones. Let cook for another minute or two.
4. Scramble the eggs in a separate bowl. Then, add them to the pan with the veggies. Scramble them a bit, and then form into a circular omelet.
5. Let the omelet cook until the top is bubbling and is no longer goopy and raw. Then, add crumbled feta and a layer of the mozz. Close one half of the omelet onto the other so that the cheese is sandwiched in the middle.
6. Let sit for another 30 seconds or so, until cheese is melted.

And that’s it! I normally eat it with a piece of whole wheat toast, but it would be great with any other type of bread, bagel, or English muffin. One day I’ll attempt homefries, but I’ve been tying to be healthy and unfortunately potatoes don’t exactly fit that description. I’ve also recently discovered red orange juice, which I have been loving with this omelet. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

