Homemade Mediterranean Pizza

Cooking was always one of those things I decided I didn’t want to learn how to do until it was absolutely necessary. Sophomore year of college, it was suddenly necessary. Living in an apartment with two other girls, I no longer could just go to the dining hall and pile gluttonous helpings onto my plates of whatever food services whipped up that night. This was a wonderful change for my health, but it left me to conquer the unknown. I had to buck up and learn how to cook for myself.

Since then, I’ve actually started to enjoy cooking. After two years of apartment living, I moved into my sorority house where our chef served all of our meals during the week. Not unlike its reaction to dining hall food, my body was less than pleased with this turn of events. Now, I can finally get back to cooking for myself! It takes time to prepare and then clean up a freshly cooked meal, but since time is not an issue for me right now, I’ve been spending some quality time in the kitchen.

Last night for dinner, I made homemade pizza. It’s super easy, no need to use any messy dough. I used a whole wheat, pocketless pita as the crust.

Personal Mediterranean Pizza

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 whole wheat pocketless pita
1 clove of garlic
olive oil
pepper
basil leaves (I used freeze dried, but if you prefer fresh, even better)
cherry tomatoes, halved
kalamata olives, halved
baby spinach
goat cheese
shredded mozzarella cheese

Here’s how you do it:
1. Place pita on a cookie sheet lined with tin foil. Mix some olive oil, pressed garlic, and pepper in a small bowl. Spread some of the mixture onto the pita.
2. Add goat cheese and enough mozzarella to cover  the pita evenly.
3. Add the toppings! Cut the tomatoes and olives in half, and place those and the spinach leaves on the pita. Sprinkle the basil on top. Also, sprinkle with more of the olive oil mixture if you want.
4. Bake in the oven at 400° F until cheese starts to bubble and the crust is hard but not burnt!

Easy enough, right? AND it’s cheaper and much healthier than ordering a pie from the loca pizza joint. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

